IPL Auction 2022: Will this be the last mega auction?

IPL Auction 2022: Will this be the last mega auction?

IPL Auction 2022: Will this be the last mega auction?

IPL Auction 2022: Will this be the last mega auction?

Indian Premier League auction will take place in January and the auction which will be held in January  could be a last Mega auction

Why it could be the last Megha auction is because many of the IPL  franchises believe that conducting and the mega option is a redundant exercise and should be stopped. Therefore based on the opinions of the IPL franchises it is believed that this is the last time the Mega auction will take place. 

 IPL franchises but quite happy with this IPL auction to the last Mega auction

 A newspaper quoted a source as saying

“We genuinely hope this is the last mega-auction because the trend has clearly gone past its sell-by date. This, in turn, will also put pressure on franchisees to pick well at this mega-auction because they’ll be building their future teams around these set of players.”

Just before the Mega auction,  the existing IPL franchises have been allowed to retain 4 players.  these four players will be in Two combinations:   two Indian players and two overseas players.

The deadline for IPL franchises to announce a retention list of four players is Tuesday 30 November and there have been lots of speculations as to which team will retain which players.  in the coming days, it will become clear as to which team has retained what players.

As new franchises have also been Incorporated in the IPL so they have also been allowed the Liberty to pick, 3 players, ahead of the IPL Mega auction-  two Indian cricketers and one Overseas player

There has been no official confirmation on the retention of players by respective teams but media reports have rebuilt the names of retained players based on the sources

According to ESPN Cricinfo Chennai Super Kings are expected to retain MS Dhoni, all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja, Opener Ruturaj Gaikwad England’s Moeen Ali as their Overseas player

Kolkata Knight Riders are expected to announce Sunil Narine and Andre Russell as their two Overseas players the two Indian slots are likely to be obtained by Varun Chakravarti Venkatesh Iyer.

Further, Sunrisers Hyderabad is likely to retain only their captain Kane Williamson as they, apparently, haven’t been able to crack a deal with Rashid Khan. Delhi Capitals (DC) are said to have zeroed in on Rishabh Pant, Prithvi Shaw, Axar Patel, and Anrich Nortje as their four picks.

On the other hand, TOI claimed that Mumbai Indians (MI), the most successful IPL franchise, have decided to retain captain Rohit Sharma, fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah, Ishan Kishan, and Kieron Pollard.

As for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), the report said that they have retained Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, and Mohammed Siraj but are on the impasse with Yuzvendra Chahal.

Punjab Kings (PBKS) are keen to retain Mayank Agarwal, Ravi Bishnoi, and Arshdeep Singh. Rajasthan Royals (RR) choices could be Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, and Yashasvi Jaiswal.

Some reports have also been doing the rounds claiming KL Rahul could be the captain of the Lucknow franchise.