West Indies test squad announced under the new captain of Kraigg Brathwaite

West Indies test squad announced under the new captain Kraigg Brathwaite

West Indies test squad announced under the new captain Kraigg Brathwaite

The West Indies test squad has been announced, many new players have been included in the squad. Players like Jason Holder and Darren bravo who opted out of the Bangladesh series citing the pandemic, have featured in the 13 man squad. However. The West Indies team will be led by the Kraigg brathwaite in the test series against Sri lanka.

Before the Sri lanka tour, West Indies was on a tour to bangladesh where many players refused to go because of a pandemic situation, this gave opportunities to many new players to participate in the West Indies team to showcase their talent. One of them emerged is Kyle Myers who was the star performer of the first test played in Sri lanka.

Both Holder and Bravo were among 10 players who didn’t tour Bangladesh recently citing COVID-19 concerns. They are the only two players who have been called back; Shamarh Brooks and Roston Chase haven’t made it back. Shane Dowrich, who didn’t tour Bangladesh due to personal reasons, continues to be unavailable.

“It is good to be able to put together a Test squad with a number of players coming off very good performances in their last series in Bangladesh. Very encouraging. It is a fantastic opportunity to build on the good work that was done in Bangladesh. It is very important to continue the process of working hard, playing with great passion, playing with determination and a great desire to succeed. Doing that consistently will bring us the right results.,” lead selector Roger Harper said.

“A number of players seized the opportunity that the tour of Bangladesh presented and booked a place for themselves in the Test team for this series. This now means that there is keen competition for places which should drive better individual performances and that of the team. I also think that these players are looking forward to displaying their skills on home soil,” Harper added.

Squad for 1st Test: Kraigg Brathwaite (C), Jermaine Blackwood (vice-captain), Nkrumah Bonner, Darren Bravo, John Campbell, Rahkeem Cornwall, Joshua Da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Jason Holder, Alzarri Joseph, Kyle Mayers, Kemar Roach, Jomel Warrican