Top 5 Batsmen with the Most Runs in a Series in the IPL History

Top 5 Batsmen with the Most Runs in a Series in the IPL History

Top 5 Batsmen with the Most Runs in a Series in the IPL History

Indian premier league has so far travelled the journey of 13 editions. IPL saw its first match being played in 2008. Since then, It has seen many new records being made and many old ones being broken. 

IPL has given a platform to many new budding players to rise to international fame. Players like Ravichandran ashwin, Hardik pandya, Ravindra jadeja, Yusuf pathan and Yuzvendra chahal are among the few players who have made it to the national teams. 

There is only one thing about it, Whatever team you got, All a player needs to do is to hit the ball hard and score as many runs as possible and a player needs to show his batting technique, consistency, his persistence to withhold the maximum pressure.  

If a player becomes the favorite of the masses, He gets into the list only to be picked for the earliest opportunity. 

If you have to see the runs being scored as they are nothing, IPL is the place for it. 

In this article, we will see the top 5 players who have scored the maximum runs in a series in the history of IPL. 

1. Virat Kohli (973)

Today, It is well known that there is hardly any player who can match the calibre of Virat Kohli in all the formats. You name the format, Virat has some records to his name from that format. 

Virat kohli is the player who is on the path of being the greatest player in the history of cricket not only in india but in the world. 

Virat kohli is the only player who has been part of the same franchise for the Entire tournament. He has developed so much affection for the team that he has himself confessed that his career will probably end with being part of RCB. 

His initial three years were not favorable to him but since the 2011, Turnaround happened with him he started being consistent and in the following year, He was made the captain of the RCB. 

His most destructive year was the IPL 2016 when he scored a whopping 973 runs, the highest by any batsman in IPL history of IPL. 

His focus, determination, consistency, thirst for runs makes him different from other players but these qualities are what will take him to the path of greatness. 

2. David warner (848)

David warner was the most successful overseas player in IPL history, he is capable of playing across all the formats. He has scored a total of 5254 runs at the strike rate of 141.64. He has made four centuries so far and amassed a total of 54 half centuries. 

He became part of Delhi Daredevils in 2009 to 2013. Later, he was released by the Sunrisers Hyderabad in the 2014. That’s when he started performing at his best. He even went on to become the captain of the SRH. 

His most successful season at personal level was 2016 when he notched up 848 runs off the 516 deliveries at the strike rate of 151.42. This knock was the second highest after Virat Kohli.

He was also barred from playing the IPL for one year in 2018, it was only in 2019 that he resumed playing for Hyderabad. But he was barred from captaincy. He was allowed the captaincy of SRH in 2020. 

3. Kane williamson (735)

Kane Williamson is famously known as a classical test batsman.  This New zealand-born batsman has performed amazingly in the test match.

Kane williamson became part of the IPL in 2015 when he was roped in by the Sun Risers Hyderabad. For the initial years, He did not have much to show, given the limited opportunities he got to play. 

When Captain of SRH David warner was banned for a year due to ball tampering scandal in 2018. Kane Williamson got the opportunity to prove his mettle. He was given the captaincy of SRH and that was the time, Kane williamson assumed his hitting form and amassed 735 runs with the average of 52.50 and at the strike rate of 142.44. 

He went on to take the team to the final only to be defeated by CSK for the second time. With this score, he became the third player to score the maximum runs in a series after Virat kohli and David warner. 

4. Chris gayle (733)

Chrish gayle is the most successful player in IPL history. He has done wonders. He has many records to his name in the IPL. He has the ability to win the match single handedly. He has proved this many times by taking the team to victory on his own. 

He first became a part of IPL when he rose to international fame after hitting a century in 2007 T-20 world cup. He was sure to be picked up by the IPL as he had the credentials to show. 

He was bought by the Kolkata Knight Riders for the 800000 USD. He did not prove his mettle in the next three seasons. He was released by the KKR in 2011 and RCB was not the team that will miss this opportunity. RCB instantly got Gayle into the team.  

Chris has many records to his credit but most mind boggling was the one where he hit 17 innings in the single innings. It was an unimaginable feat he attained and got himself at the top of most sixes in single sixes table. 

Chris gayle became the fourth player to have scored maximum runs of 733 with the average of 61.08 at the strike rate of 160.74 in IPL 2012. His highest was 128 in this edition of IPL 

5. Michael Hussey (733)

Michael Hussey was the most consistent player of the IPL. Michael Hussey did not have many great years in the IPL as he was not given much opportunity. He was the part CSK throughout the time he stayed in the IPL. 

His memorable year was 2013 when he scored 733 at the strike rate 129.50 with an average of 52.35. With this score, he became the 5th player to have scored 733 in a series in the IPL history.