Top 5 Batsmen with Most Sixes in IPL History

Top 5 Batsmen with Most Sixes in IPL History

Top 5 Batsmen with Most Sixes in IPL History

IPL is the league which pushes the players to always perform beyond their capacities. IPL has played a huge role in bringing the hidden ability of players to the light. 

This is the reason why many huge records were made and old ones were smashed. IPL is the reason many players rose to fame and got selected into the national team. 

This short format league offers so much pressure to the batsmen and there is equal reward for winning and breaking the records. IPL offers huge money and respect as a reward for the better performance. This is the reason it is counted among the most watched and most expensive leagues in the world. 

IPL is a platform which makes hitting sixes as some kind of normal thing. Because witnessing the sixes is a common sight. In this article, we will see the top 5 batsmen who hold the record of maximum fifties. 

1. Chris gayle (349)

Famously known as Universe boss, Chris gayle is the run hitting machine. He entertains the masses both on and on field. He was first roped in by the kolkata knight riders but he did not get enough chances to prove his mettle. Later he was brought by the Royal challengers bangalore.

He never had to look back in the IPL. He went on making records after records earning the fame in IPL like no one else. 

He amassed a total of 608 runs getting himself an orange cap in 2011 and later in 2012, he notched up a total of 733 runs again receiving an orange cap. 

But IPL 2013 was the memorable year for Chris gayle when he scripted the history by hitting breathtaking 175 runs, highest ever scored by any player in the history of IPL. He made this record against Delhi daredevils. But with the time, his age catching up, he movements slowing down, injuries pulling back, but he kept on giving match winning performances now and then. 

In 2018, he was tapped by the Kings Eleven Punjab. He is with them giving a match-winning exhibition now and then. 

Chrish gayle is a  player with the most sixes of 349 in the history of IPL. 

2. Ab de villiers

Ab de villiers is fans’ favorite. Because he has the ability to play 360 degree shots playing shots all around the ground in any ground in the world. 

He was first bought by the Delhi daredevils in 2008 and IPL got shifted to South Africa due to election in India in 2009. Ab de villiers gave outstanding performance by scoring 105 runs against IPL at the average of 51.66. 

He gave an average performance in the following season, Delhi parted ways with him and RCB saw this as an opportunity and bought him for 1.1 million. 

He has been a consistent performer since then. There is not a single season where he has not shown the lofty performance for which he is known for. He stands only second to Chris Gayle with the most seixes of 235.  

3. Mahendra singh Dhoni (235)

This Ranchi-born cricket is known to everyone. He enjoys the maximum following in the field of cricket. He was very instrumental in helping India to win the 2011 world.  

Dhoni was already an international fame and there was so much excitement as to who will tap the strong leader MS Dhoni? Finally those intrigues were put to bed by the chennai super king who wanted a strong leader to lead the team. And there was no one better than ms dhoni. He was brought by the chennai super king for the whooping 6 crore which was the most expensive bid then. 

Since then, under the captaincy of dhoni, Chennai super kings have won the IPL trophy 3 times, CSK has been the runner-up many times. He is the most successful captain in the IPL history. 

He is the third player with the most sixes. He has amassed a total of 216. 

4. Rohit sharma (213)

Rohit sharma is undoubtedly the most successful batsman and captain in the Indian premier league. Mumbai Indians have clinched the IPL trophy four times out of which three under the captaincy of Rohit sharma. 

Initially Rohit sharma struggled for consistency but IPL helped him to stay relevant. 

He was initially part of Deccan charges from 2008 to 2010 amassing over 350 runs, later he was roped in by the Mumbai Indians. He was more than happy to be part of his home team. 

He was impressive with batting in the next season but his most impressive and noticeable breakthrough came in 2013 when he scored 538 runs playing a significant role in Mumbai Indians’s maiden IPL title. Eventually, he was handed over the leadership of Mumbai Indians.

He made sure that he stood up his role as a leader and rest is history. 

He has notched up a total of 5230 runs at the strike rate of 130.61. 

Rohit sharma has hit a total of 213 sixes.  

5. Virat Kohli (201)

Virat kohli is famously known as the run machine. This Delhi-born batsman is ranked no.1 in the ODI, no.2 in the test, no.3 in the T20.  He has the ability and hunger to prove himself on the field. Virat kohli was the captain of the team when India won the under-19 world cup.  

He was bought by the RCB in 2008 and he became the captain of the team in the 2013. In 2016, he had the highest runs in IPL and he was in the possession of the orange cup. 

Virat Kohli has scored 5878 runs at the strike rate of 130.73. He has hit a whooping 201 sixes only behind the David warner. He may have been the run scoring machine but sadly Bangalore has not won the IPL trophy despite reaching the final many times.